Thunder’s superb run to flag earns award

BENDIGO Thunder is in the running for the Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year award.

Thunder’s unbeaten streak of 17 matches was capped by winning the Victorian Women’s Football League’s north-west division grand final in August.

It was back-to-back premiership glory for the Russell Jeffrey-coached team.

Bendigo Bank has now kicked in as major sponsor of Sports Star, which began in 1965-66.

The judging panel will meet on Tuesday to pore over September’s outstanding performances.

Contenders include Geelong Football Club captain Joel Selwood.

Another great year by the Cats’ onballer included selection in the centre and captain of the AFL’s All-Australian team.

A previous winner of the Sports Star, Selwood was runner-up in the Brownlow Medal.

Bendigo Pioneers captain Jacob Chisari was in a four-way tie for the Morrish Medal for best and fairest in the TAC Cup under-18s football competition.

Kelly Wilson and Gabe Richards played key roles for Knox in its South East Australia Basketball League national championship victory.

Wedderburn’s Brendan Reeves and Rhianon Smyth were runner-up in Rally Australia.

Sandhurst ruckman Tim Martin won the Michelsen Medal for best and fairest in the Bendigo Football Netball League.

Gisborne centre Tiana Newman won the Betty Thompson Medal for a second time as best and fairest in the A-grade netball competition.

Bendigo Gold onballer Alik Magin earned the VFL coaches player of the year award, and team-mate Daniel Toman was selected in the VFL Team of the Year.

The Bendigo Lady Braves won the SEABL east conference grand final.

The Bendigo Miners won the Victorian Rugby Union country division premiership against Shepparton.

PREMIERS: Bendigo Thunder Football Club celebrates back-to-back grand final wins. Picture: TRAVIS KING

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲美睫培训.

Comments are closed.